September 3, 2013

  • A New Beginning

    Xanga is back, the timing of this is just perfect. I started school again last week. I am taking Word Civilization part two and Basic Writing 2 this semester. This last week hasn't been that eventful school wise anyway. I basically just got introduced to my classes, and got my textbooks. I have actually sent my textbooks to be converted to audio. I will still have the actual textbook when they are finished, but I will also have a copy I can listen to as well!

    Actually a funny thing happened when I was going to give the Accessible technology office my text books. I was on my way to the school store to buy something so I could get cash back to use on the bus and I saw this lady that had a cane. I was carrying mine (raed below) and I said hi and she said her name was lisa and she was heading to the AT office as well. I told her that I would see her there after I get my money. Anyway so I did that and then went to the AT office and gave them my books. The guy that took my books needed my first and last name and I told him my last name and over to my left I hear Lisa say "No way that is my last name as well!". The funny thing about this s that my dad has a sister named Lisa. To make this even more funny My dads name is Robert, and guess what Lisa's husbands name is? That is right it is Robert. So My dad has a sister named Lisa, and this woman I met in the hallways earlier that is also named Lisa has a husband named Robert. Strange coincidences happen every day and this one was one of the funniest ones I have come across. Not to mention that she is also visually impaired and uses a cane (sometimes) like me. That was a fun trip to that office.

    I have started taking the bus to school this semester. I really don't know why I didn't start this sooner. I feel like I have a lot more freedom now that I have a bus pass and can just go wherever I want to via bus. I accidentally missed a bus last week and was late for school. That is probably the only drawback I see so far. I have also noticed that a lot of the same people get off and go onto the bus, I have a feeling I'm going to be making a lot of bus buddies. I have already met some really interesting and sweet people. I love how the bus has more than one stop at school, so I don't have to walk from one end of the campus to another. I had to wait two days from Monday for my bus pass to activate, I just picked it up somewhere at school and just brought cash and quarters with me for those two days. I also used those two days as an excuse to buy stuff from the school ice cream store because that is how I got my cash. I think I might have an addiction to Chex Mix Muddy Buddies haha.

    World Civ (history) is the same as last semester. The professor mostly just gives a lecture the whole entire class and the only homework we have is 1 paper, a project, and just the basic reading. I knw the drill pretty well now so I am sure I will do a lot better this time.  We started where we left off last semester, around the time of the renaissance times.

    My English or Basic Writing 2 class hasn't been hard so far. We only have class 2 times a week and the rest is online. The first assignment this last week wasn't that hard, we just had to write a short about me paragraph in MLA format. I have to admit that I always get nervous with English at first. I think everything is going to be fine though as long as I keep up and do my best and don't over think. My english class and my History class are on opposite sides of the campus, I usually have to walk or run pretty fast from English to History every time.

    I am also taking Christian history at the institute

    I missed the school food during the break. I am going to cut down on eating at school, but it is nice every once in a while. My favorite places to go to are Jamba Juice, Pizza Hut, Subway, and Rockin Robbies. I probably go to Jamba Juice the most out of all of them. They are actually building a Taco Bell on campus right next to Jamba Juice. I am not sure if I am going to eat there or not, it depends on how good the food is, I think it depends on who is preparing it. I guess we will have to wait and see. I am probably going to pack a lunch most of the time, but I will undoubtedly frequent those places from time to time.

    I have been taking my cane for a trial run this week. I think using it on campus is a great thing. I don't really use it anywhere else besides the bus. I feel like people have a right to know that I have bad vision and that is why I carry it, well that and it helps me with all the steps and stuff on campus. I don't have to use it, but for school it makes things easier. It's still a bit weird carrying it around sometimes just because I don't use it that often. I don't really use it for general mobility, it's more of a depth perception issue. I haven't gotten any negative reactions from anyone and I don't mind answering questions either. I have gotten a few questions from people at the bus stop this week.

    I was sick for this whole last week. My whole family was sick actually, we all had colds. It wasn't anything particularly nasty though, just a stuffy and runny nose, a little cough because I had crud in my lungs. I felt kind of bad, but not horrible except for maybe the 2nd day. I made sure to take lots of vitamin C and eat stuff that had it as well. I took a lot of other vitamins as well to make sure my body had a lot of support. My immune system is pretty good and that just made it a whole lot better. I am pretty much over the cold, just have a little bit of coughing left, but not much. I am glad it went away fast because I would have hated to have to deal with it for a second week.

    Everything has been going smoothly and the weather has been nice. I've been playing a lot of old computer games from the 90's lately. It's funny how even after 20 years I still love the games of my childhood. I have been playing games like Ken's labyrinth, Skyroads, Prince of Persia and some others. I have always been fond of DOS games and was really lucky to find a newer version of Ken's Labyrinth that words on my computer surprisingly enough. I am trying to make a Let's Play for that game  currently.

    I have a lot more stuff to share with you guys, but for now this will do, no use rushing. :)

     

Comments (1)

  • Wow, that's a lot of classes that you're taking. I know I'm only taking Pre-Algebra and some required freshman class at my college to help me better prepare for college. Funny that is.

    I'm sorry that you were sick last week. I know I've been sick a few times and they usually lasted a week which sucked but I'm glad they were not during school.

    Yeah, that's pretty awesome that you're playing old childhood games. I sometimes go back and play my childhood games for fun. They simply are amazing.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment