August 2, 2013

  • Curve Ball

    I am the kind of person that likes a lot of freedom and space to do my thing. I am the kind of person that would love living on my own and doing my own thing. This part of me sometimes causes me a lot of anxiety because right now I lack a lot of life skills that a lot of people have usually by my age. This fact has been causing me a lot of grief for a while, I don’t know how to get around on my own, or even do simple things like do my own laundry and my cooking skills are mediocre at best. Never in my dreams would I have guessed I would be thrown the unexpected curve ball I was thrown today at my appointment with my vocational rehab councilor.

    When I left for her office I was just planning on telling her the price of my books, my tuition, what classes I’m taking so she could pay for my tuition, but I got something even better. Around May sometime next year I’m going to be given a chance to live in an apartment with another girl and there will be some other people as well living in different apartments nearby that will be learning lifeskills besides me and my roommate. They are going to teach me how to do stuff like get around on my own, cooking, doing laundry and probably a lot more things. All the people that are going to go through  this will have visual impairments as well. To say I was happy when I got this chance is an understatement. For a while I have been feeling like I really need to get out, like I need to be on my own and learn. I have been praying that God would help me get through my hard times. Today I had no doubt that this is an answer to my prayers. I know that it isn’t going to be easy, but I really need this and I know it is right. A lot of my family and people around me aren’t going to be able to see me for six months starting next May, but this is something I desperately need. I really give God credit for what happened today, I wasn’t expecting this at all. I not only get to do this, but my vocational rehab councilor is also getting me a bus pass that will last for a year. Words cannot even describe how good I am feeling right now. I finally get my wish and get to learn a lot of stuff I’ve been learning for a long time.

    I could have chosen to go this year, but I want to get prepared a little more, get in better shape, get mentally prepared, etc. I also want to do two more semesters of college before I go through with this. God is good, and he knows just what I need, that is for sure.

    I was supposed to see my vocational rehab councilor a week ago, but I missed the appointment twice. This was my third time making the appointment and I made it this time. I was worried for a few days that I wouldn’t get to go because I was waiting for my financial aid results and I had to take a math test and get the list of books and all this stuff. I had blanked out making the appointment earlier in the summer. I am glad I did it just in time. I am taking English and History and decided to skip out on math the last second because I’m sure I’ll get enough challenge.

    I’ve been through a lot of stuff this summer and this year in general, but for now I just want to tell you about this. There will be plenty of time for stories of the past later. It is a beautiful day today and things are looking up and I feel so good now. With all the drama with friends and with the Xanga site relaunch I have been feeling a bit fried lately, but I am back to life now and ready for a new semester at school!

    I’ll write more later. I have so much I haven’t said.

Comments (1)

  • Sounds like a great opportunity!One of my regrets is that I never got my mom's recipes and have never been able to duplicate the cooking I grew up on. If you still have a chance, be sure to get your favorite family recipes written down!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment