December 25, 2012

  • Fried Food on Christmas Eve

    So, when I went upstairs today there was a few inches of fresh white snow on the ground. The snow was falling pretty heavily, and the wind was also blowing. My niece Natalie was kind of freaking out about it a little because my sister went to the store and it took her a while to get back because it was so crazy. She was afraid she got in some kind of accident or something. My nieces and I watched Poahontis 2, and also watched a few episodes of "Pound Puppies". I have no problem with watching stuff like this with them sometimes because I always get to watch what I want downstairs in my room. I had fun hanging out with them, drinking herbal tea, and also watching the snow.

    Here is a video of the snow. :)

     

    I had a little bit of trouble sleeping last night. It was one of those nights where you wake up like every 2 hours. I always have trouble sleeping around Christmas, everything is so exciting. I ended up sleeping for 3 hours in the afternoon, I felt like a heavy brick. I don't expect to be able to sleep better tonight with all the excitement about the presents and Christmas day in general.

    I got all cleaned up and ready for the evening fun we had tonight after I woke up from my nap. We played the present game tonight, it's a tradition we have every year. I grew up playing the present game, some years have been better than others.  What we do is a few people buy presents that are under 5 dollars each. Each person makes sure no one sees the presents they bought and wraps them up. All the presents are then put in a pile and we each pick a number. Sometimes we use the dice, you have to roll either a 7 or 11 to pick a present. This year we didn't use the dice, we just went around in order of number. What happens is you go around by order of number and you either pick a present, or steal someone else's present. If you steal from someone they get to pick a new present out of the pile. This just goes around until all the presents are gone, and then if you want you can trade presents afterwards.

    Here is what I got this year. Apple cider mix, cheese puffs, air freshener, pretzels, and candy.

    After we did the game we ate. We had a lot of stuff tonight. We had chips, cheese and chocolate fondue, salsa, angel food cake, fruit veggies, tempura, pigs in a blanket, etc. Here are the pictures. By the way, never fry an apple in tempura batter, it is gross. haha.

     

    It was really fun, we all had fun using the oil to fry things. One of my brothers did something extremely weird and fried a little weenie wrapped in a marshmallow that was also wrapped in some dough. It was both hilarious and disgusting. There were people that tried to roast marshmallows in the oil, and others that dipped fruit in the tempura batter and then ate it. I tried that, but thought it was gross. It was lively and everyone enjoyed themselves the whole evening.

    After we got done eating and everything winded down, we read the Night Before Christmas poem, the story of Jesus's birth from the book of Luke in the bible, and this story called "The Littlest Angel". We all went and did our own thing after this, and I have just been surfing Xanga ever since and watching stuff on Youtube. I don't think anything else is going to happen tonight. My family started watching "Merlin" upstairs, but I haven't seen season 5 yet, so that is why I came down here. Anyway, today has been fun and exciting. I have no doubt that tomorrow will be the same.

    I got to talk to Ronnie tonight, he has been having a good day today. I was hoping he would have a good Christmas. I think getting to share my day with him, the pictures and the videos was definitely one of the best things to happen today. I love sharing stuff with Ronnie. We always have the best conversations and always have fun when we talk to each other. He definitely brightened up my day, even though it was already pretty bright.

    I don't think I missed anything, but we will see. :)